Pootler's Design Team, Stampin' Up!

Pootlers Design Team – Just Keep Swimming – Week 1

14088395_10153745365531603_281310922678395855_n

I’m so excited to be a part the Pootler’s Designs Team for this month. Every Thursday throughout March, myself and 4 other ladies from our team will be showcasing projects made with the Just Keep Swimming stamp set.

143010G

When I saw this set in the annual catalogue I flicked straight past it, so I was slightly worried that this was the Design Team’s stamp set for March. Then as I kept looking at the individual stamps in the set, ideas started to come to me. As I started playing with it I really fell in love with the set. So here’s my project for week 1.

IMG_3035

I used 5 stamps from the set, of which 4 of them make the monster. I rarely use Designer Series Paper – not because I don’t like it but because it’s so pretty I don’t want to waste it. I’d much rather look at it than cut it up! So what I like to do is make my own using stamped images.

Using Dapper Denim I inked up the solid image and stamped off onto scrap paper each time, before randomly stamping the image onto Whisper White cardstock several times. I then layered the ‘fur’ stamp in full strength Dapper Denim ink. I used Night of Navy for the face, legs and arms.

I cut a full A4 sheet of Night of Navy cardstock in half and then scored that in half to make a cardbase. I cut the handmade DSP a  1/4″ smaller than the cardbase and rounded the corners. This left a 1/8″ border. I used Tear & Tape to secure it.

Using the Banner Framelits, I cut out the second largest from Emerald Envy cardstock, the next size smaller from Dapper Denim and the next one from Whisper White cardstock.

Using the smaller Whisper White banner I stamped another monster, using the same technique as the background, in Emerald Envy and Night of Navy inks. To stop him floating I used Sahara Sand write marker to ‘ground’ him. I glued all of the banners together and I stuck them to the card with Stampin’ Dimonsionals.

I stamped the sentiments from the same set with Night of Navy ink and cut it out with the classic label punch and adhered them with Stampin’ Dimensionals to the tails of the banners.

To me a card isn’t finished without decorating the inside as well. For this, I simply added a mat of Whisper White cardstock in the same size as the DSP on the front and rounded the corners. I wanted the sentiment to follow on to the inside so I added 3 dots after Monster Hugs with Night of Navy write marker.

IMG_3036

 

I used Crazy About You stamp set for the additional sentiment but as you can see I was limited to the words in the set. In my next post I will share how I turned YOU into YOUR so it would make a sentence.

I hoped you liked my project for the first week, I’m really looking forward to sharing next weeks project with you.

Product List